What is known today as the Enon Church of God had its beginning in April of 1942. The small group of nine people who gathered with the founding pastor, Clyde Buron, called themselves the Hopewell Church of God. By 1946, the church purchased three lots on 7th Avenue in Hopewell, Virginia, and became known as the 7th Avenue Church of God. They worshiped in a tent until the first building was erected in 1948. Due to growth, an additional building was added in 1972. In 2001, the church relocated to its current location and was renamed the Enon Church of God.
There is a rich heritage of Godly leadership and faithful members who have sacrificed and continue to sacrifice for the greatest cause—building God’s Kingdom. We believe that the continued journey with God is going to be more than we could ever hope for or even imagine.